Troubleshooting Reputation

Tanium as a Service is a self-monitored service, designed to detect failures before the failures surface to users. For more information, see Tanium as a Service Deployment Guide: Troubleshooting Tanium as a Service.

To collect and send information to Tanium for troubleshooting, collect logs and other relevant information.

Collect logs

The information is saved as a ZIP file that you can download with your browser.

  1. From the Reputation Home page, click Help , then the Troubleshooting tab.
  2. Click Download.
    A reputation-support.[timestamp].zip file downloads to the local download directory.
  3. Contact Tanium Support to determine the best option to send the ZIP file. For more information, see Contact Tanium Support.

Tanium Reputation maintains logging information in the reputation-service.log file in the <Module Server>services\reputation-service directory.

Check the Trends metrics for potential problems

  1. From the Trends menu, click Boards and then click Reputation.
  2. If the Failed Outbound API Requests panel displays failures, verify that your reputation sources are configured correctly.
  3. If data shows up faster in the Inbound Items panel than it does in the Outbound Items panel and the Outbound Processing Queue panel is consistently high, configure your reputation sources to send fewer hashes.

Uninstall Reputation

The basic Reputation shared service uninstallation is designed so that the data you have collected is restored if you later decide to reinstall Reputation. In some cases, you might want to start "clean" and not restore the data. To do this, you must manually remove some files.

Consult with your TAM before you uninstall or reinstall Reputation.

Uninstall Reputation so data is restored on reinstall

  1. Sign into the Tanium Console as a user with the Administrator role.
  2. From the Main menu, click Tanium Solutions.
  3. In the Tanium Solutions section, select the Reputation row and click Uninstall Solution.
  4. Review the summary and click Proceed with Uninstall.
  5. When prompted to confirm, enter your password.

If you later import the Reputation shared service, the previous data is restored.

Uninstall Reputation so you start fresh when you reinstall

  1. Uninstall Reputation so data is restored on reinstall.
  2. Manually delete the <Module Server>\services\reputation-files\ directory.

Deleting the reputation-files directory removes all existing Reputation data. All logs, output, the Reputation database, and any other Reputation data is deleted. If you later import the Reputation shared service, the previous data is not restored.

Contact Tanium Support

To contact Tanium Support for help, send an email to [email protected].