Installing End-User Notifications

Tanium as a Service automatically handles module installations and upgrades.

For information about configuring End-User Notifications for Tanium as a Service (TaaS), see Configuring End-User Notifications.

Use the Solutions page to install End-User Notifications and choose either automatic or manual configuration:

  • Automatic configuration with default settings (Tanium Core Platform 7.4.2 or later only): End-User Notifications is installed with any required dependencies and other selected products. After installation, the Tanium Server automatically configures the recommended default settings. This option is the best practice for most deployments. For more information about the automatic configuration for End-User Notifications, see Import End-User Notifications with default settings.
  • Manual configuration with custom settings: After installing End-User Notifications, you must manually configure required settings. Select this option only if End-User Notifications requires settings that differ from the recommended default settings. For more information, see Import End-User Notifications with custom settings.

Before you begin

Import End-User Notifications with default settings

(Tanium Core Platform 7.4.5 or later only) You can set the module action group to target the No Computers filter group by enabling restricted targeting before adding the module to your Tanium licenseimporting the module. This option enables you to control tools deployment through scheduled actions that are created during the import and that target the module action group. For example, you might want to test tools on a subset of endpoints before deploying the tools to all endpoints. In this case, you can manually deploy the tools to an action group that you configured to target only the subset. To configure an action group, see Tanium Console User Guide: Managing action groups. To enable or disable restricted targeting, see Tanium Console User Guide: Dependencies, default settings, and tools deployment.

When you import End-User Notifications with automatic configuration, the following default settings are configured:

The following default settings are configured for End-User Notifications:

Setting Default value
Action group
  • Restricted targeting disabled (default): All Computers computer group
  • Restricted targeting enabled: No Computers computer group
Service account

The service account is set to the account that you used to import the module.

Configuring a unique service account for each Tanium solution is an extra security measure to consider in consultation with the security team of your organization. See Configure service account.

End-User Notifications configurations
  • A default End-User Notifications profile is created.
  • The End-User Notifications tools are distributed to endpoints.

To import End-User Notifications and configure default settings, be sure to select the Apply All Tanium recommended configurations check box while performing the steps in Tanium Console User Guide: Import all modules and services. After the import, verify that the correct version is installed. For more information, see Verify End-User Notifications version.

Import End-User Notifications with custom settings

To import End-User Notifications without automatically configuring default settings, be sure to clear the Apply All Tanium recommended configurations check box while performing the steps in Tanium Console User Guide: Import, re-import, or update specific solutions. After the import, verify that the correct version is installed. For more information, see Verify End-User Notifications version.

To configure the service account, see Configure service account.

To configure the End-User Notifications action group, see Configure End-User Notifications action group.

To customize notifications, see Customize the End-User Self Service Client.

Upgrade End-User Notifications

For the steps to upgrade End-User Notifications, see Tanium Console User Guide: Import all modules and services. After the upgrade, verify that the correct version is installed. For more information, see Verify End-User Notifications version.

Verify End-User Notifications version

After you import or upgrade End-User Notifications, verify that the correct version is installed:

  1. Refresh your browser.
  2. From the Main menu, go to Administration > Shared Services > End-User Notifications to open the End-User Notifications Overview page.
  3. To display version information, click Info Info.