Managing maintenance windows

Maintenance windows control when deployments can run on a computer group. A maintenance window is separate from the deployment start and end time. To run a deployment, a maintenance window must be open during the configured deployment time, or the deployment must have the Override maintenance windows option configured.

Deployments do not run outside of a maintenance window unless the Override maintenance windows option is selected in the deployment options. You must create at least one maintenance window for other deployments to run.

Maintenance window options

You can configure maintenance windows for the times that are best for your environment. Apply maintenance windows by enforcing them against computer groups. Multiple maintenance windows can affect a computer group, creating several times that deployment activity is permitted.

If you want . . . After the date and time, select . . .
A one-time window Does Not Repeat
A window that repeats every few days Daily and the number of days between windows
A window that repeats on the same days of the week Weekly, the number of weeks between windows, and which days of the week it opens on
A window that repeats on the same date each month Monthly, the number of months between windows, and Day of the Month
A window that repeats on the same day each month Monthly, the number of months between windows, and Day of the Week
A window that repeats on the same day of the year Yearly and the number of years between windows

If a maintenance window does not repeat and it is the only one enforced against a computer group, deployments cannot run after the window closes.

Create a maintenance window

You can open multiple maintenance windows to customize when deployments run on your endpoints. For example, you can create windows that allow deployments during periods of low network activity or outside of core working hours.

  1. From the Deploy menu, go to Maintenance Windows and then click Create Window.
  2. Name the window.
  3. Configure the window options.
    1. (Optional) Select the repetition time frame.
    2. Use the date and time pickers to set the start and end time of the window.

      If a maintenance window repeats, it does not have an end date. You must remove the enforcement against the target computer groups to stop the maintenance window.

    3. Choose from the local time on the endpoint or UTC time.
    4. If you chose to repeat the window, set additional options, such as how long the window lasts, how often the window repeats, day of the week, or day of the month.
  4. Configure the window options.
    1. (Optional) Select the recurrence time frame.
      If you chose to repeat the window, set additional options, such as how often the window repeats, day of the week, or day of the month.
    2. Use the date and time pickers to set the start and end time of the window.

      If a maintenance window repeats, it does not have an end date. You must remove the enforcement against the target computer groups to stop the maintenance window.

    3. Choose from the local time on the endpoint or UTC time.
    4. If you chose to repeat the window, set the duration of the window.
  5. Click Create Window and then add one or more target computer groups.

    Maintenance window computer groups must be assigned RBAC permissions for the user or group to appear in the list. For more information, see Tanium Console User Guide: RBAC overview.

Edit a maintenance window

  1. From the Deploy menu, go to Maintenance Windows.
  2. Click the name of a window and click Edit.
  3. Make your changes and click Update Window.

Override a maintenance window

You can run a deployment outside of a maintenance window by configuring the Override maintenance windows option during a deployment. For more information, see Deploying software.

Delete a maintenance window

After the enforcements have been removed, you can delete a maintenance window.

  1. From the Deploy menu, go to Maintenance Windows.
  2. Click the name of a window.
  3. If the window is enforced against computer groups, remove all groups.
  4. Click Delete .