Creating profiles

Create a profile to specify the Reveal endpoint configuration settings for groups of endpoints. For example, some endpoint types might require a different Reveal database size. Endpoints that are not targeted by a custom profile receive the default profile, which sets all Reveal endpoint settings to the default values.

If you upgrade Reveal from a version earlier than 1.18 to version 1.18 or later, any settings that were configured on the Endpoint Configuration tab in the Reveal settings are carried forward to the default profile.

Any settings that were configured on the Endpoint Configuration tab in the Reveal settings in earlier releases are carried forward to the default profile when your environment upgrades to the release that includes Reveal profiles.

The Profiles page includes a banner with a summary of the status for all profiles:

New

A user created and saved the profile, but did not deploy it to targeted endpoints.

Updated

A user edited the profile, but did not deploy the updated profile to targeted endpoints.

Pending Approval

A user deployed the profile in Reveal, but the profile requires approval in Endpoint Configuration to push out to or delete from targeted endpoints.

Deployed

A user deployed the profile in Reveal, and the profile deployed to targeted endpoints via Endpoint Configuration.

The Status column in the grid on the Profiles page shows the status for each profile.

Create a profile

  1. From the Reveal menu, click Profiles. Click Create Profile.
  2. In the General Information section, specify the Profile Name and optional Profile Description.
  3. In the Target section, click Select Computer Groups and select one or more computer groups to configure with this profile.
  4. In the Tanium Index Subscription Settings section, specify the Tanium Index Scan Frequency and Tanium Index First Scan Distribute Over Time settings.
  5. In the Reveal Settings section, specify the endpoint settings as needed.
  6. Click Create.

The profile status is New until you deploy it. For information on deploying profiles to endpoints, see Deploy a profile.

Prioritize profiles

If you have more than one profile, prioritize profiles to determine which profile applies to endpoints targeted by more than one profile. Zero (0) is the highest priority.

  1. From the Reveal menu, click Profiles. Click Prioritize.
  2. Drag and drop profiles in the list to change the priority. The first profile in the list has the highest priority (0).
  3. Click Prioritize.

Existing profiles that were previously deployed automatically redeploy as needed to reflect the new priorities. You must deploy new profiles that were not previously deployed. For information on deploying profiles to endpoints, see Deploy a profile.

Edit a profile

  1. From the Reveal menu, click Profiles.
  2. Click the profile name. Click Edit Profile .
  3. Make the necessary changes. Click Save.

The profile status is Updated until you deploy it. For information on deploying profiles to endpoints, see Deploy a profile.

Deploy a profile

Deploy a profile to push the settings out to targeted endpoints. You can deploy all profiles or a single profile.

  1. From the Reveal menu, click Profiles.
    • To deploy all profiles, click Deploy All Profiles.
    • To deploy a single profile, select the checkbox for that profile. Click Deploy.

If you enabled configuration approvals in Endpoint Configuration, you must approve the deployment in Endpoint Configuration. The profile status is Pending Approval until a designated approver approves the deployment in Endpoint Configuration. For more information, see Endpoint Configuration User Guide: Managing approvals.

Delete a profile

When you delete a profile, endpoints targeted by the deleted profile receive the next highest priority profile that targets the endpoints. If an endpoint is not targeted by another custom profile, it receives the default profile.

  1. From the Reveal menu, click Profiles.
  2. Select the checkbox for the profile. Click Delete.

If you enabled configuration approvals in Endpoint Configuration, you must approve the deletion in Endpoint Configuration. The profile status is Pending Approval until a designated approver approves the deletion in Endpoint Configuration. For more information, see Endpoint Configuration User Guide: Managing approvals.