Managing user groups

The user group configuration associates users, computer groups, and roles with a user group. Use the Administration > User Groups page to view, add, edit, or delete user groups. You can use the text field above the grid to filter by user group name or use the Filter Results options to filter by User and Computer Group assignments.

To import users and user groups from a Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) or Active Directory (AD) server, see Using LDAP.

User role requirements

The user group configuration is a complex configuration. You must have the following permissions to manage the user group configuration:

  • Write User Group permission to create a new configuration, add properties, or save changes to a configuration.
  • Write Computer Group permission to change computer group assignment from the user group configuration page. To change the computer group assignment, you also need the Read Sensor permission on the Reserved content set. The Reserved content set includes content used to ask preview questions.
  • Read User permission to change the user assignment.
  • Administrator or Content Set Administrator reserved role to change the role assignment. However, a Content Set Administrator cannot manage the assignment of reserved roles.

Only the Administrator reserved role has all of these permissions.

Create a user group

  1. Go to Administration > User Groups.
  2. Click New User Group.
  3. Specify a configuration name and save the configuration.

Assign computer groups to a user group

  1. Go to Administration > User Groups.
  2. Click the Name of the user group configuration that you want to edit.
  3. Click Manage Computer Groups and Edit.
  4. Select items and click Save.

    Specify No Management Rights Assigned if you do not want users to inherit computer groups from this configuration. Otherwise, specify Selected Management Rights and then select the computer groups that you want users to inherit from this configuration.

  5. Click Show Preview to Continue to review the impact of your changes.
  6. Save the configuration.

Assign users to a user group

  1. Go to Administration > User Groups.
  2. Click the Name of the user group configuration that you want to edit.
  3. Click Manage Users and Edit.
  4. Select users and click Save.
  5. Click Show Preview to Continue to review the impact of your changes.
  6. Save the configuration.

Assign roles to a user group

  1. Go to Administration > User Groups.
  2. Click the Name of the user group configuration that you want to edit.
  3. Click Edit Roles.
  4. In the Grant Roles section, click Edit, select roles, and click Save.
  5. In the Deny Roles section, click Edit, select roles, and click Save.
  6. Click Show Preview to Continue to review the impact of your changes.
  7. Save the configuration.

Delete a user group

When you delete a user group configuration, users no longer inherit computer group rights and roles from the user group configuration. When deleting a user group configuration, we recommend:

  1. Delete the users from the user group and review the resulting impact on the users' effective permissions.
  2. Delete the user group configuration.

View effective permissions

  1. Go to Administration > User Groups to open the user groups summary page.
  2. Click the Name of the user group configuration that you want to review.
  3. Review the role assignment, inherited roles, and the lists of the resulting Global, Micro Admin, and Content Set permissions.
  4. Click Back to all User Groups to return to the user groups summary page.

Copy the user groups configuration summary

You can copy the details of the user groups configuration page to a message, text file, or spreadsheet. Each row in the grid is a comma-separated value string: User Group name, computer group count, user count, grant role count, deny role count.

Copy a single row

  1. Go to Administration > User Groups.
  2. Select the row for a user group.

    When you select a row, tools appear above the grid.

  3. Click Copy to copy the row details to the clipboard.

Copy all rows

  1. Go to Administration > User Groups.
  2. Click Copy All in the grid header.

Export the user groups configuration

You can export the user groups configuration to a JSON file that can be examined during troubleshooting.

  1. Go to Administration > User Groups.
  2. Click Export All in the grid header.

Last updated: 4/23/2019 11:23 AM | Feedback