Managing connections

You can view status, edit, import, and export connections.

View connection status

To view the status of all your connections, click Connections from the Connect menu.

A list of all your connections is displayed, along with statistics about the amount of data, connection runs, and average connection duration across all connections.

Filter connections list

If you have many connections, you can filter or order the list.

  • To filter on a specific connection name, expand Filter Results: and type a name into the Connection Name search field. The list of connections is automatically updated. To clear the filter, click Clear Filters.
  • To sort the connections, select the data on which to sort: Average Data per Run, Average Run Time, Last Run, Last Run Status, Last Run Time, Name, Next Run Time, or Total Data.
  • To switch the ordering of the list of connections (ascending or descending), click Toggle Sort Order .

View schedule for all connections

You can view the schedule for each connection in relation to all of the other connections.
From the Connect menu, click Connections > Schedule View. The default view shows the enabled connections that are scheduled to run today, in the time zone of your browser.

  • To view details about a connection, click the connection name on the horizontal bar.
  • To view the run log for a specific connection run, click the completed status icon.
  • To track how much data is sent by all connections for each hour, use the Data Per Hour (MB) bar graph.
  • To view all of the connections that happened on a specific date, click the calendar to view a specific date.

Change schedule time zone

To change the Default Workbench Time Zone, go to the Connect home page and click Settings .

Edit connections

To edit a connection, click Connections > connection_name > Edit from the Connect menu. You can change the connection source, destination, filters, formats, and schedule in the configuration screen. You might want to reference the documentation for the particular destination type for more information.

When you edit a destination, the changes affect all connections where that destination is used.

Schedule connections

Schedule connections to run at specific time intervals. Then, you can view the schedule status of all of your connections in the Schedule View.

Update a connection schedule

  1. Edit the connection.
    From the Connect menu, click Connections > connection_name > Edit.
  2. Update the schedule: 

    • Use the Generate Cron tab to build a schedule based on some common time intervals. This tab generates a Cron expression.
    • To view or edit the Cron expression directly, click the Edit Cron Expression tab.
  3. Review the interpretation of your schedule. The schedule Summary field shows a text summary of your schedule based on the CRON expression or selections that you made on the Calendar tab.
  4. Click Save Changes.

Export connections

If you want to back up or move connections between environments, you can export a connection from the Connect Workbench.

  1. From the Connect menu, click Connections.
  2. Select the connections that you want to export. After the connections are selected, click Actions > Export. The connections are saved to your Downloads folder as a .json file.

Import connections

You can import connections from JSON files that have been exported from the Connect 4 Workbench. You cannot import connections from Connect 3 or earlier. To migrate connections from previous versions, see Migrate connections to Connect 4.x from previous versions.

  1. From the Connect menu, click Connections.
  2. Click Create Connection > Import and then click Import File. Select the JSON file from which you want to import connections.
  3. Review the messages for each connection that you are importing.




    You can filter the list of connections by displaying only connections that are selected (Checked) or by the status of the connection.

  4. When you are ready to import one or more connections, select the connections and click Import.
  5. If any of the connections have errors or warnings, resolve the issues before you import the connection.
    1. Click the name of connection that you want to import that has import errors.
    2. Edit the settings in the connection to resolve the issues.
    3. Click Import Connection.
  6. (Optional) If a connection is on the list that you do not want to import or review, select the connection and click Remove.
  7. To view the list of connections that were imported from your JSON file, go to Status and select Imported.

Use the same destination in multiple connections

You can reuse a destination in multiple connections. An existing destination is a specific instance of a destination that has specific details of the data target specified. These details are vary for each destination type, but might include information such as the target IP address and port number, user name and password information, and destination paths.

After you create a destination, you can use the destination again in another connection.
To reuse a destination, choose an existing destination for the Destination Name.

For example, you might create a Splunk connection by setting the host name and port of the Splunk indexer and the format of the data to send. You can use this configured Splunk destination with multiple connections to send multiple data sources to your single Splunk configuration.

Clear New Items cache

If you are using the New Items filter, you can clear the new items cache in an existing connection.

  1. From the Connect menu, click Connections > connection_name > Edit.
  2. In the connection editor window, go to the Filters section.

    Expand Advanced Settings and click Clear to remove all of the items in the baseline data. If you want to restart the learning period, click Reset learning days.

Use REST APIs to manage connections

You can use the REST APIs for Connect to create, edit, and manage connections.

To view the Connect REST API documentation, click Help then the link for Connect API documentation.

Configure notifications for failed connection runs

If you use the Connect Connection Run Failure event group, you can choose to send a notification for a failed connection run.
This type of connection runs only once. If this connection fails, it does not reattempt the notification, so it prevents the connection from repeatedly running in the event that something in the connection is failing.

Last updated: 11/13/2018 2:54 PM | Feedback